Celebration of Learning

Fountain of Color by sunsurfr, on Flickr
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 2.0 Generic License  Photo by sunsurfr 

A week ago today was our final class of EC&I 831 and it was our second night of sharing our summaries of learning. Once again it was a joyful and powerful experience listening to all the learning that took place over the past three months. As Alec mentioned on several occasions: you could hear the confidence in peoples’ voices. Everyone took such risks and ventured far beyond their comfort zones, and we all “survived” to tell fantastic stories of growth and change. We pushed the boundaries in ourselves and others. We became advocates for change and exploration. We came to appreciate and embrace what were once mysteries. The summaries of learning were truly celebrations of journeys.

I knew I would struggle as the class wound down and it was time to sign off for the final time. I am an emotional girl and goodbyes  get me every time. I admit I felt sad and I had a little cry. Pretty silly, I know. But I know I felt this way because it is difficult to see a great experience end. And yet I know it hasn’t really ended. Yes, the structured time and place for meeting my classmates has ended, but the connections and sense of community will continue to exist and grow in the very social media we came to value through this course.

I created my summary of learning using Glogster, a tool I explored early on in the course. I fell in love with Glogster and its potential for self-expression. The audio links I embedded into the Glog pages I recorded in Audacity. Glogster has an audio recording tool but I was unhappy with the sound quality. Audacity is a free, open source software for recording and editing audio. If you have not tried it before I highly recommend it. We use Audacity with our students in Grades 2 to 6 with excellent results in many different projects. I designed a series of interlinked Glogs to capture the various themes from my wonderful EC&I 831 experiences. To explore my summary of learning please click the image below. Maybe Santa will bring me a WordPress.org blog so I can embed more into my blog posts!

My Summary of Learning for EC&I 831

Leave a Reply

